Skip to content

The TotalEnergy Africa Women's Cup of Nations, Morocco 2022 ended on 23 July 2022 with an unprecedented final that saw South Africa crowned for the first time

A long-awaited 14th edition

Due to the pandemic, the 2020 edition was postponed. Fans had thus been waiting for four years to support their national teams in this competition.
For this 14th edition, the tournament pitted the 12 best women's teams on the continent against each other for the first time: Morocco, Uganda, Zambia, Burundi, Botswana, Tunisia, Burkina Faso, Nigeria, Senegal, Togo, Cameroon and South Africa.


And for this celebration of women's football, the players put on a magnificent show with no less than 63 goals scored.
After 3 weeks of competition, South Africa was finally crowned. This is their first title after 5 defeats during the finals. Morocco, who came second and Zambia, third, complete the podium..



Key figures


Year of the first edition


Number of matches played at the TotalEnergies Women's Cup of Nations, Morocco 2022


Number of goals scored during this edition


This is South Africa's first title


Football Together jerseys with written messages of encouragement from the fans given to the TotalEnergies Woman of the Match and the TotalEnergies Woman of the Competition